Euro Stories: A Soundtrack

“Do you want to be understood?
Do you want one thing or are you looking for sainthood?
Do you run when it’s just getting good?”
– Spoon, “Do you”

Like so many wonderful quotes I’ve read over the past two months, there are a handful of songs that found me intermittently throughout my journey. Little bits of lyrics and tunes playing over and over again in my head over several miles of walking; be it, in the right or wrong direction, I was moving forward. My only burden is the repetition and words that escape from my mouth on the bus. Or when I could not tapping my foot at the vegan bakery I’d frequent in my time in Fremont. Or the random dance breaks among priceless pieces of art. I’m a fan of pop music. I cannot help myself. I enjoy silliness in all forms.

The lightness of letting go and the soundtrack to that momentum resides below:

George Ezra – “Blame It on Me”

Heard all over Europe, this Brixton lad, has grown on me.

Ed Sheeran – “Sing”

This song is a hold over prior from my departure, but for some reason or another, this tune played in my head for nearly the entirety of my journey. It’s a banger, that’s for sure, and fun to sing.

Ryan Adams – “Gimme Something Good”

I’ve been obsessed with Ryan Adams for many years. His music, in its various incarnations, has always struck a chord within me. Something about being from the South and being surrounded by a wealth of music has a vibe that corresponds to deep roots in the landscape of my life. Plus, this song feels like a request for something good from the universe, to which, my only reply is, “thank you.”

Spoon – They Want My Soul

Every single song on this album is representative my time away from Florida. I’ve been a fan for over a decade, finding this band when I was in college (the first time), and have devoured each album they’ve released since then. I had this new album on repeat on the daily. Often singing aloud along with the Britt Daniel in my head.

Metronomy – “The Look”

Upon my arrival to The States, I stayed in Portland, Oregon for 10-days with my dear friend, Shannon. She took me to a Metronomy show and it was one of the best live shows I’ve ever seen. The band blew me away and was completely funky and energetic. Needless to say Shannon and I sang this song every morning without fail to the annoyance of everyone around us.

Twin Peaks Theme

I cannot remember the last time I dressed for a group costume, but this year, a few of us dressed like characters from Twin Peaks. We played the soundtrack to Twin Peaks whilst carving pumpkins. Yep, yours truly scooped the guts out of a gourd for fun.

TV on the Radio – “Staring at the Sun”

One of my all time favorite songs of all time, I found this tune bubbling up in most sunny situations. When the sunlight made all my photos look amazing, I couldn’t help but hum this enigmatic tune to myself.

Echosmiths – “Cool Kids”

There were times when I would get lonely or felt like an outsider. As an observer, I witnessed the coolness by which the Dutch behaved. I saw first hand the solid, confident steps of Londoners dressed in suits. Visible at every single restaurant, bar, and café, the passion of Spanish friends and family during meals that would last for the entire night, laughter, cheers, and the clinking of glasses echoing throughout narrow streets. To see women sporting ankle boots and leather jackets stretching long legs off and on the Tube while I struggled to mind the gap in Nikes and skinny jeans; I wanted to be like the cool kids. I wanted to fit in. I wanted to grab all that self-confidence and cram it in my mouth. This song resonates those feels.

The Police – “So Lonely”

En route to Seattle, I was given the challenge of finding a Police song that wasn’t creepy. I picked this one, letting the sweet silliness blaze through the speakers, and then immediately realized that there are no songs involving Sting that are without creepiness.

New Order – “Jetstream”

Now, a dream for the future, to be a member of the jet set and find out how to live a life of travel and adventure. There is no longer a hole in my heart but a new dream with a new wave-y beat, of course.

 

Leave a Reply

