Contributor: “A big town is a small town if you keep your eyes open long enough” by Eram Socat

I moved away from my “small town” in search of another life
I moved to catch up with the romanticized version of myself in an alternate timeline
The bizarro universe me, who does everything better

They say “Home is where the heart is” but not for me
I take my heart everywhere and give out pieces
I can’t get rid of it fast enough and apparently, it tastes good
Home for me is where I want my dreams to come true

The small town I came from is a million people wide
The big town I moved to is 5 times that
It’s big enough for my dreams to breathe, surely
And yet, I am starting to see regulars already
People I’ve met
People I’ve seen around
People I’ve seen online
The boundaries are starting to be drawn
The landscape, familiarized

My heart stops when I see a deeply beautiful woman
It is my third worst vice
I’m lying, it is my first
I look and acknowledge without introducing myself because I am transfixed
And because there are many things wrong with me and at least a few things right with her

I comfort myself with “You will never see her again, so treasure this small time you have by not fucking up”
Sure, let’s go with that
Because this town is so big, you see
What are the chances

2 comments

  1. Tatiana Balachova · January 14, 2015

    There’s no such thing as a big city, because the World is very small 🙂

  2. tatianasb · January 14, 2015

    There is no such thing as a big city, because the World is very small 🙂

Leave a Reply

